December 26th, 2012

Stage set for Modi swearing today

AHMEDABAD: Senior BJP leaders and the Chief Ministers of at least six states will descend here to witness gala swearing in ceremony of Chief Minister designate Narendra Modi at Sardar Patel stadium here today.
According to BJP sources,  Modi will take the oath of the office for the post of Chief Minister for the fourth time in last 11 years. Hectic preparations for the ceremony are on at the stadium for last two days.
Senior BJP leaders like L K Advani, Sushma Swaraj, Dr Murli Manohar Joshi, Arun Jaitley and Chief Ministers of six states including Madhya Pradesh CM Shivrajsingh Chauhan, Goa CM Manohar Parikar, Punjab CM Prakashsingh Badal, Tamilnadu CM Jayalalitha, Chhatisgarh CM Ramansingh and Jharkhand Chief Minister Arjun Munda and others are expected to attend the swearing in ceremony.
Meanwhile, tight security blanket is thrown around in stadium complex. A posse of police has been deployed in and around the stadium. All roads leading to the stadium have been closed for vehicular traffic which has been  given diversions.
Around 27 CCTV cameras have been installed in the stadium to ensure a foolproof security.
Meanwhile, senior Congress leader Virbhadra Singh on Tuesday took oath as the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh at the historic Ridge Maidan of Shimla.
Governor Urmila Singh administered the oath of office and secrecy to him at 1030 hrs.
Singh would be the Chief Minister for the sixth time.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>