December 5th, 2012

SJ Foundation honours outstanding individuals, organisations

NEW DELHI : SJ Foundation honoured 20 outstanding selfless workers, including Dr. E Sreedharan, Late Satyendra Kumar Dubey and Subhash Chandra Agarwal by bestowing SR Jindal Prize 2012 at a glittering Felicitation Ceremony held in the Capital, on Tuesday. Those honoured with total prize money worth Rs. 8 crore included individuals and institutions who are beacons of selfless service to the society.
The S.R Jindal Prizes 2012 were bestowed for the following eight categories: Agriculture, Rural Development and Poverty Alleviation; Healthcare – including drugless healing and Naturecare; Education – with emphasis on moral upliftment; Science, Technology and Environment; Peace, Social Harmony and Social Development; Crusade against Corruption; Exceptional Social Service and Exemplary Service to mankind in any field.  One honorary Award was also given.
The icon of non violence and universal human values Sri Sri Ravishankar who seeks global peace through service and dialogue honoured the awardees. Justice R.C Lahoti, former Chief Justice of India and Chairman of Jury presided over the ceremony where the winners were honoured.
The S R Jindal Prize has been instituted last year to accolade exceptional service of current significance rendered by individuals or organisations for the welfare of Indian citizens in the country. It is expected that the recognition garnered by the S R Jindal Prize awardees will catalyse their efforts towards social upliftment. Prizes of Rs. 1 crore each were bestowed upon Dr. Vijay P Bhatkar for Science and Technology and Bharat Lok Shiksha Parishad in the field of Peace, Social Harmony and Socail Development.
Patron of SJ Foundation and CMD of Jindal Aluminum, Dr. Sitaram Jindal’s vision is “The most practical and meaningful way to give back to society, I feel, is to bring hope to the poor and downtrodden in distress. I admire Albert Einstein for his belief ‘Only a life lived for others is a life worthwhile.’ It is imperative that the society acknowledges the contribution of selfless workers working silently and honours them with the amount of respect they deserve, so that others are inspired to take the cause ahead. It is with this objective in view that the Foundation had decided to institute the SR Jindal Prize.
S R Jindal Prize (Honorary) was awarded to Dr. E Sreedharan for his exceptional contribution in the establishment and development of Delhi Metro.
S R Jindal Prize of Rs. 1 crore for Agriculture, Rural Development and Poverty Alleviation was bestowed jointly on BAIF Development Research Foundation, Pune for empowering 45 lakh tribal and rural families in 12 states and Rashtriya Seva Samithi (RASS),Tirupati for benefiting over 10 lakh villagers in three states.
Dr. Sitaram Jindal has set aside Rs. 125 crore to form a corpus of funds for creating a perpetual prize, to honour the deserving, year after year. Such perpetual financial stability of Prize Schemes is uncommon except in rare cases like the Nobel Prize.
Aravind Eye Hospitals and The Banyan, Chennai have been jointly awarded SR Jindal Prize under the category of Health, including drugless healing and nature cure. Aravind Eye Hospitals provide quality eye care to 27 lakh patients every year and The Banyan, Chennai works for treatment and rehabilitation of mentally ill homeless women. This award carries a cash prize of Rs. 1 crore to be shared equally.
SR Jindal Prize, under the category of Education – with emphasis on moral upliftment has been bestowed jointly upon Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari and SOS Children’s Villages of India. Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari is engaged in educational service running 63 schools with about 22,000 students maintaining high academic and moral standards in six states in India. SOS Children’s Villages of India provides free education and health care to 6,135 destitute children in family environment and care. This award carries a cash prize of Rs. 1 crore to be shared equally.
Bhagwan Mahaveer Vikalang Sahayata Samiti which has been providing over 20,000 artificial limbs per year to the disabled and Narain Seva Sansthan,Udaipur which provides free treatment and rehabilitation to polio affected persons, have been awarded SR Jindal Prize of Rs. 1 cr to be shared equally under the category of Exceptional Social Service.
S R Jindal Prize for Crusade against Corruption of Rs. 1 crore to be shared equally was given jointly to (Late) Satyendra Kumar Dubey, the whistle blower who sacrificed his life for exposing corruption in NHAI, Shri Sanjeeb Singh Katiyar, Alias Sanjeeba for exposing and fighting corruption through NUKKAD NATAKS, Shri Subhash Chandra Agrawal for exposing corruption through RTI Act and Shri Ajay Shankar Dubey for exposing corruption in mining lease cases and MGNREGS in M.P.
Fulbasan Yadav, Bharat Sevashram Sangha, T. Duryodhana Reddy, Dipendra Manocha, and Amar Sewa Sangam have been jointly awarded SR Jindal Prize in the category of ‘Exemplary Service to Mankind in any field’. The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 1 crore to be shared equally.
S R Jindal Prize had attracted close to 2,700 nominations this year, mirroring the exceptional response for the prize. The nominations were invited from across India through advertisements in print and electronic media as well as the website of SJ Foundation. The nominations received were adjudicated by the jury comprising eminent persons of high integrity through a process independent of the working of the foundation. These prizes will be awarded every year, year after year.
This year the Jury constituted of eminent personalities like Justice R.C Lahoti, Former Chief Justice of India as the Chairman, Justice Ajit Prakash Shah, former Chief Justice of Delhi High Court as Vice Chairman, V.K Shunglu, former C and AG of India, Dhanendra Kumar, Ex-Secretary, Ministry of Culture in the Government of India, Dr. Ved Pratap Vaidik, Eminent Journalist, Naseem Ahmad, Ex- Vice Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University as members and N.P Gupta, IAS (Retd) and Secretary General, SJ Foundation as Member Secretary.

Share This Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>